Progress in the fight against FIP?

I have long been interested in staying abreast of information concerning one of the most dreaded feline diseases in existence — FIP or Feline Infectious Peritonitis.  Misinformation, erroneous assumptions, and misdiagnosis surround this mysterious disease.  When a kitten (and it usually is a kitten) perishes from this disease it is utterly devastating.  I dread the day that I’m informed by a frantic family that one of the kittens from me has been diagnosed with this disease.  It may never happen, and I pray it doesn’t!  But no cattery, no shelter will be safe until science finds treatments and cures for FIP.  Before you panic, remember that only a small percentage of cats develop FIP — note, I said ‘develop.’  They do NOT catch it.  It is not infectious in the sense we think of infection.  FIP is ‘developed’ within a susceptible cat who has been exposed to the very common corona virus.

Some catteries will claim to be “FIP negative”  or the more tuned in cattery might claim to be “corona virus free.”  Take this with a grain of salt.  A cattery MIGHT attain the status of “corona virus free” and they MIGHT be able to retain that status, but that’s a bit like saying that your home is free of the common cold in that no one in your family has ever had a cold and that no one in your family has ever been in contact with anyone who has had a cold.  The pitfall in this theory is that once you send your child forth into a world where nearly everyone has had at least one cold in their life, that child immediately becomes exposed.

But enough of my rambling.  I dropped in to give you a link to check out which I found interesting and encouraging concerning FIP.  If any of you have traveled the feline health circuit for long on the Internet you will have run across Dr. Susan Little, DVM.  She is world renown in the area of feline reproduction among other feline health issues.  In this short video she speaks about FIP and explains it much better than I can, but more importantly she talks about an upcoming symposium where other *stars* in the field of feline health research will be presenting some promising advances in the understanding and treatment of FIP.

http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/steve-dale-pet-world/2011/04/dr-susan-little-with-the-latest-on-fip.html

3 responses to “Progress in the fight against FIP?

  1. Thank you for the information Molly. I do not think that I have ever heard of this disease. I am glad to be informed.
    Simone

  2. Molly an interesting topic, I also have never heard of this disease, but of course Autoimmune Disease’s are plentiful out there – Kittie’s and Humans alike, so pleased that they can hopefully conquer this FIP in the the future to help our Feline friends. Thank you for your information.

  3. OMG! My sweet baby, Bach, was only 6 months old (to the day) when he died of FIP. He was born on my, and JS Bach’s birthday, hence his name.

    He was the sweetest little all black baby, with big yellow eyes. He loved people and my full length floor mirror, to which he would try to *get at himself*, for several minutes at the time.

    He loved classical music and the color green. I was devastated when he was diagnosed. I separated Iggy, 1 year old at the time, from him. Naturally, it was a horrible time in my life and i feel for anyone who has gone through such.

    Thanks for all you do to provide everyone with great information, Molly.

    =(

Leave a Reply

