Let’s be careful out there ….

Oh, for heavens sake! In response to a previous post on cat laser toys.

Of course the max exposure time is calculated for human eyes.   At least I assume as much.   Given that 16 minutes is a fair amount of time, it’s my uneducated opinion that it still leaves a margin of safety for more sensitive eyes.  Another consideration is the blink reflex.  Safety of lasers, according to what I read yesterday, is also based on the blink reflex.  In other words, it’s the reflex that instinctively protects the eyes.  Your assignment, should you care to accept it, is to find out for me if the blink reflex on eyes more sensitive than humans is greater or lessor?  This poses an interested study in and of its self.

However, as always, to be on the safe side, my “official” advice is that laser toys should all be banned for humans who are going to sit and stare at them in excess of 16 minutes.  Since the maximum exposure time is unknown for cats, hence forth I would like to make it known that all cats guarded by humans who are worried about this shall also be restricted in their purchase of laser toys, pointers, etc.

In future articles we may touch on the plethora of other dangers I expose my cats to on a daily basis:  salmonella, tick and flea products, high places to fall from, vaccines, house plants, garden plants, airborne germs in the enclosure, germs I bring in on my shoes and clothing, allowing people to handle small kittens before sterilizing their hands (honest to God, I know breeders who will not allow their kittens to even be viewed until they are 8 weeks old, let alone handled), paper clips, electrical cords ….

And just think, I was going to discuss the dry versus wet food controversy, and now I’ve run out of time — lol.  Don’t look so relieved!

20 responses to “Let’s be careful out there ….

  1. All very interesting and I think people get the wrong idea that it is a “laser” pointer when, really, it is just a beam. And, of course, I would not recommend anyone beam it directly into your retina (human or cat (if you can keep them still for that long)) for extented periods of time. Cats actually have THREE eyelids – one upper and one lower, like us, and then a third “eyelid” that actually runs horizontally across the eye. This is called the nictitating membrane, and it’s extremely thin. Cats move this membrane very rapidly, similar to the way we blink so I think cats have added protection from those red light “BEAMS”!!
    Great research Molly and a very interesting subject as it seems A LOT of people have very different views on this subject.

  2. Oh Molly, does the phrase ‘can of worms’ spring to my mind after reading that? Lol!
    ….. but since it’s been mentioned. I have done a bit of research myself and looked at the laser toys available on line and the revues of the same . Some people thought they were excellent, others said that their cats got bored quickly. None of the comments I read questioned the safety aspect. All manfacturers recommend not using for too long at a time but then that also applied to other cat toys I looked at.
    As far as the blink reflex assignment is concerned…… that may take a little more time!

    The only thing I would like to see banned at the moment is snow as we’ve just had another load dumped on us in the UK and I might go out in it and go ar** over apex.

    It’s a dangerous world, that’s a fact of life! 😀

    • Yes! I heard about the UK weather … and the temperatures! Will do on the snow ban. Laser toys are a great way to exercise some cats (AKA play with and having fun with). Others could care less. So far the biggest danger with Kalahari and Sahara who don’t seem to get bored with it is the danger of knocking themselves out when they miss a turn and slam into a wall.

  3. Oy vey! It’s not like you are letting your beloved cats play with shards of glass! Playing with a laser toy for a few minutes is not going to hurt them! People need to get over themselves.

  4. You’re cute when you rant!

  5. Molly, I’m quite sure if you took away Sirocco’s paper clips, she’d be heartbroken! Sure, you could keep the cats in a plastic bubble, but what kind of life would that be? I think it’s all a question of balance and carefully calculated risk. Yes, there is some risk in all the things you mentioned, but really, how much? Of the list you made, the only thing I have not exposed my cats to is the “high places” item, and this is because 1) I don’t have your fabulous talent for woodworking and DIY jobs, and 2) because Jack and Opossum are both horribly clumsy, and they WOULD fall. But your cats? I doubt it. Each and every one seems graceful, and you’ve got your clever set-up with the plexiglass and such. And aren’t most of your naysayers and doomsdayers on youtube anyway? Ignore them! With as many fans as you have, you are bound to attract some idiots!

    • Amen Jill!! You hit the nail on the head 🙂

    • LOL, Jill. Too true. The naysayers are the YouTubers which is why I no longer have the comments feeding into my email. Occasionally I get weak and spot check the comments. Of course it DOES often give me something to rant about and there is nothing like a good rant to stimulate discussion on a blog. I feel as if I need to be a little more careful with my rants on the kitten blog, but perhaps I could invite in guest speakers every now and then. Maybe secret alias’s for the “darker side of Molly?” 😀

  6. I love the rants and they are very educational. Merry Christmas

  7. Molly, let’s not forget air….ah, yes, often a hazardous element. And TV… you just can’t let those babies watch ANY show, especially, the young ones.

    Some people just have to say SOMEthing. Pay no mind to those who criticize. Your love and dedication is exemplary.

  8. I wonder what they’d say about us letting our tuxedo cat outside to play with the eagles…

    • I don’t know? Are we worrying about the cat or the eagles in this case? We need to prepare ourselves for which faction we might have to contend with. Perhaps I’d better devise a rebuttal rant for either contingency.

  9. ROFL! I hadn’t thought about it that way, but I suppose The Mighty Hunter might give an eagle something to think about. OTOH, he’s declawed and eagles have those big talons. Still, Jack is all attitude so you never know. He IS a serial killer. We’ve been finding crusty dead rodents under every piece of furniture we’ve been moving out of the kitchen for the remodel, not to mention all the remains already discovered that didn’t escape to crawl off and die.

    Eagles are protected, so maybe *I* need to prep a defense in case the game warden or the ASPCA drop by to question us about Mighty Hunter’s escapades.

    I’d love to read a rant of yours for either case. No doubt it would be hilarious!

    • Hmmm. In view of more details, it’s looking as if we should think about mounting a defense for Jack just in case. Something along the lines of “Warden, I’m sure there’s a perfectly good explanation as to why Jack dispatched several eagles.” I don’t suppose Jack can be declared an endangered species? We better keep the serial killer thing under wraps. That kind of thing doesn’t set well with game wardens.

  10. What serial killer? That’s just an ugly rumor, spread by jealous kitties who don’t get to go out to play with eagles. Or rodents.

    Maybe Jack can claim self-defense. After all, he’s just a little guy being bullied by mean old wildlife. And really, is it his fault if rodents choose to attack him by throwing themselves into his fangs? He could lose a tooth!

    There must be a Twinkie defense of some kind in there somewhere. The catnip made him do it. Besides, he was rejected by his mother as a kitten, forcing him to live on the streets until being incarcerated without a trial at the shelter in violation of his civil rights, where he learned anti-social behavior from the other inmates. Upon his release, he was forced to live with six crazed huskies and a couple of really strange humans. It’s really not his fault. He’s just a product of his environment and a bad upbringing. No jury would convict him.

Leave a Reply

