Starting a new week …

It seems I took a few days off from blogging.  I’ve been busy.  What’s going on in ‘Kitty Land?’ you ask!  Here I am on the bed again with the laptop enjoying my time with the adult kitties.  I looked in on KittyCam 1 and see that Sahara is busy bathing the babies, so there’s no hurry to get going just yet.  I assume Sirocco is doing the same.  I let the boys out of their bunk house so they could join us and Simba Kahn is sitting at my right, supervising.  He says he can spell better than I can, and I don’t doubt him for a second.  Everyone got their cursory grooming.  It’s always an adventure brushing Sequoia out in the morning.  You never know what might be unearthed in her luxurious coat.  BTW, Sequoia now outweighs Nugget, Sahara, and Sirocco!  She’s just over 6 lbs.

On the kitten front:  Sirocco and I went to the vet yesterday and I held her while the vet removed the staples in her tummy.  No more zipper!  Both mother kitties are doing well as are all of the kittens.  Sirocco’s babies are now 2 weeks old and weigh about what Gecko weighed at 2 weeks (he is still Sahara’s smallest baby).  I’m going with all males in the “G” litter until further notice.  What’s next for the kittens?  The “G” litter now has their corral set up and I’ll be removing the kennel soon so it’s more roomy for them.  They are definitely ready to do some wandering.  At this time I also put in a tiny pan of litter for them to stumble through.  It’s one of my unfounded theories that if they stagger in and out of a pan of litter when they first venture forth they will be used to the feel of it by the time they are actually old enough to use it.  The “G” litter is also going through their initial 5 day worming regimen.  Every morning I squirt icky white medicine in their little mouths.  The medicine I use also covers giardia which is a protozoa.  I don’t believe for a second that they actually have any of this ‘stuff’ but it’s considered part of growing up as a kitten — like vaccinations.  This happens at 3 weeks.  The literature says it should then be done every 2 – 3 weeks until adoption, but I don’t do that.  I have the vet test a fecal sample and if it’s negative (which so far it always is) then I only subject them to the one worming.  Next comes a really obnoxious tasting stuff once at 4 weeks, then again at 5 weeks which kills any coccidia they may have picked up — another precaution.  Coccidia and giardia are not uncommon in cats and dogs and can be picked up any number of ways.  In an healthy animal with a strong immune system it’s controlled as nature intended and never becomes an issue, but can wreak havoc with tiny kittens if allowed to flourish.  The fecal samples taken to the vet at around 9 weeks also scan for these two ‘bugs’ as a back up.

I’m working out the logistics of how to have the two litters arranged in the nursery.  So far there have been no issues between the two mothers, so we will have to play that by ear and see how it goes.  As Sahara’s babies become more mobile, she tends to be more protective.  I’m not sure how Sirocco will be.

What else?  Future homes for the kittens!!  My schedule is filling up fast with looky-loos as well as prospective kitty parents.  In fact at the writing of this post, five kittens are now spoken for, if not actually chosen.  Naturally it’s best to do the choosing when the younger litter is a bit older, so perhaps in a week or two.  How exciting!

Oh, and I really do have to get some more good kitten pictures!  My photos have been pathetic this time around … stay tuned.

Right now Simba Kahn is doing his very best to be a world class nuisance!  He’s very good at this when he thinks it’s time for food.  He is relentless!!  Uh oh, he just called in reinforcements!  Gypsy Rose!!

Gotta go!  More later ….

9 responses to “Starting a new week …

  1. What a lovely newsy post to start the week. Thank you Molly.

    So glad to hear Sirocco had her staples removed successfully.

    I’m not surprised to hear about Sequoia. She is a very study little cat isn’t she?

  2. Lovely news thanks Molly – both about the two litters, and the adultkitty- community too.

    Amazed that you have time to talk, blog, post videos and chat to us. Thanks for all the fun and entertainment.

    Has GR been allowed into H litter yet?

    Bobin

  3. GR might be allowed into the H litter nest, but I don’t think she’s tried yet … the nursery door is closed a lot because of pesky KF & SK, plus the weather is so nice lately that GR is probably drawn to the enclosure.

  4. I’m glad Sirocco isn’t a Zipper Tummy anymore — that must have been so uncomfortable for her!

    So if G Litter is smaller than most of H Litter, and they are (sort of) trying to get out of their nest already, does that mean they are more active than G Litter’s gang? They also look darker in the videos — is this just because they are younger?

    Thanks for the updates, Molly!

    • Hi Jill … you got the litters switched, I think… H litter is smaller (younger) than G litter and they were pretty active yesterday, weren’t they in that video… they really are strong little guys. I don’t know if that means they are more active or not. Yes, they are darker than the G litter but that is mostly because they are younger… goldens are impossible to predict. Both of Simba Kahn’s parents were chinchilla silvers and his kittens tend to be pretty light in color at maturity. In fact he has never NOT produced a chinchilla silver. Still with Sirocco as the mother, we won’t know until they grow up. She’s darker than Sahara, but has the same ancestors on her daddy’s side… so her kittens could be a whole range of shades in the golds. If I were to predict?? I would say that by the time the H litter is 6 or 7 weeks old, we are going to have a hard time telling the H litter kittens from the G litter kittens. 😀

      • I’m confused, Molly. You just said SK has never NOT produced a chinchilla silver, but he just fathered two litters of all goldens. Am I misunderstanding the little genetics lesson? LOL! I’m glad to hear Sirocco has been rescued from the discomfort of the staples! I have had staples myself, so I know how uncomfortable they can be!

      • Oops… I guess that WAS a very confusing statement. Of the silvers he HAS produced (with Tiny Bear), they have ALL been chinchillas (almost completely white) … but in addition to the silvers, he’s produced many more goldens. Most of his goldens tend to be light as well, but now all. Unless mated to a silver, SK will always have goldens … so, it’s entirely possible that he had nothing to do with how the silvers come out… LOL…. it was probably all Tiny Bear’s fault.

        I hope that’s a little more clear. 😀

  5. Molly !!! as always your blogs keep me so amused, I hope you will write a book – I am sure it will be a great success.
    Cannot wait for the fun to begin. Thanks as always.

  6. Yes, Molly, now I get what you meant. I know how human genetics works with eye color in terms of recessives/dominants, but I have no idea how genetics works in any other respect, human or feline. Thank you for explaining and clearing that up! Hopefully Kalahari’s body will cooperate so you can continue to have silver kittens…

Leave a Reply

